Owen Roe’s Minors through to Championship semi-final.

Owen Roe's v Derrylaughan, Saturday, 1 July 2017

Minor Championship quarter final
Result: 5-09 2-12

Friday, 20 September 2019 at 02:51 PM Joe Hegarty

It was west versus east on Saturday in Glenmornan when Owen Roe’s and their Clann na nGael team-mates hosted Derrylaughan in the Tyrone Grade 3 Minor Championship quarter final in Glenmornan with the boys from the west coming out on top.

An early goal from Oisin Dooher opened the day for the Leckpatrick side but Derrylaughan hit back with 2 points to keep them in touch. Subsequent points again from Dooher and Dan Houston kept the Roe’s side in front but again Derrylaughan were able to keep them in their sights with 2 unanswered scores of their own. Dooher pointed again but then it was time for goals from both sides to see out the half. Derrylaughan picked off the first of a run of 5 goals before the Leckpatrick side’s Peter Kirk picked off one of his own. Dooher again beat the keeper for his second before Niall Mc Aleer got one of his own when referee Cathal Mc Crory awarded the Roe’s side a penalty after Dooher was brought down in the big square.

Half time: Owen Roe’s 4-03 Derrylaughan 1-04

Three points reeled off by Derrylaughan after the restart brought the Kevin Barry’s side back to within 5 points before Owen Roe’s Conn Tinney found the posts. Derrylaughan and Kirk again traded points before Kirk himself then found the net to stretch out the home sides lead and another point from Adam Mc Elwee take the match beyond Derrylaughan’s reach an taking them into the last 4.

Best wishes for speedy recoveries to both Adam Mc Elwee and Niall Mc Aleer who picked up injuries in the game.

Final score: Owen Roe’s 5-09 Derrylaughan 2-12

The Minors now meet Edendork tonight, Wednesday, in the League semi-final at 7.30pm. Check the club’s Facebook page or website for confirmation of venue.

Owen Roe’s: Daire Devine, Pearse Devine, Peter O’ Flaherty, Conor Mc Elhainey, Dan Houston, Conor Devine, Conn Tinney, Adam Mc Elwee, Jack Kelly, Niall Mc Aleer, Oisin Dooher, Damien Mc Crossan, Peter Kirk
Subs: Aodhan Gormley, Adam Mc Colgan, Conor Doherty.

', enableHover: false, enableTracking: true, buttons: { twitter: {via: 'OwenRoes'}}, click: function(api, options){ api.simulateClick(); api.openPopup('twitter'); } }); $('#facebook').sharrre({ share: { facebook: true }, template: '
', enableHover: false, enableTracking: true, click: function(api, options){ api.simulateClick(); api.openPopup('facebook'); } });