Owen Roe's 2-07 Tattyreagh 0-13

Owen Roe's v Tattyreagh (starred), Sunday, 1 July 2018

Intermediate League
Result: 2-07 0-13

Tuesday, 25 June 2019 at 10:06 AM Joe Hegarty

If the Reserve game was one-sided, the Senior one certainly wasn’t, with both sides firing their all into a keenly contested match!

The hosts were dealt a blow within seconds of the throw-in when Ryan Mc Aleer was adjudged to have fouled sufficiently to warrant a black card, replaced by Oisin Dooher. Tattyreagh made the most of it and it was they who got the early score on the board. Conor O’Neill levelled from a free but Tattyreagh quickly cancelled it. Then O’Neill turned the visitors’ momentum when he struck a well taken goal. Stephen Harper pointed but Tattyreagh replied with 2 on the trot. Tony Devine hammered over a point from all of 45 yards out and duplicated it seconds later with an almost identical effort. Tattyreagh pointed on 30 minutes but O’Neill from a free gave the home side a 2 point advantage going in at the half-time whistle. 

In a complete turn of fortune from the first throw-in, the Leckpatrick side couldn’t have got a better start to the second period when Gerard Mc Shane picked out Ronan Mc Nulty who promptly pointed. Almost from the Tatts kick-out the ball was sent back in and a slip up by the visitors’ keeper found a loose Mc Nulty who duly took his chance for the Roe’s second goal to make it a 6 point game. However it the St Patrick’s side who seemed to take the initiative and 5 unanswered points brought them right back in to contention. Tony Devine stretched it out 2 points but again Tattyreagh were the ones to rally and picked off a free and a point form play to tie the game up in a draw.

Full-time: Owen Roe’s 2-07 Tattyreagh 0-13

Owen Roe’s: Andy Devine, Conor Donaghey, Aidan Christy, Gerard Devine, Sean Dooher, Brendan Boggs, Gerard Mc Shane, Tony Devine (0-03), Stephen Kelly, Ryan Mc Aleer, Conor O'Neill (1-02), Conall McCormick, Stephen Harper (0-01), Michael Dooher, Ronan Mc Nulty (1-01).

Subs: Oisin Dooher for Ryan Mc Aleer, Niall Mc Aleer for Stephen Kelly, Stephen Kelly for Oisin Dooher.