Aghyaran 0-08 Owen Roe’s 1-14

Aghyaran v Owen Roe’s , Sunday, 19 May 2019

All-County League
Result: 0-08 1-14

Friday, 23 August 2019 at 01:29 PM Joe Hegarty

Aghyaran and Owen Roe’s met in the ACL in the first time in a generation on Sunday evening to ensure a relatively novel feel to this encounter despite their relative geographic proximity with Owen Roe’s taking the spoils.

The away side made the perfect start with a well worked goal in the opening minutes. Stephen Harper, and the Mc Aleer brothers, Niall and Ryan, combined to feed Tony Devine for the finish to the net.

The St Davog’s replied with a pair of scores but immediately Owen Roe’s went up the other end and a well hit Brendan Boggs effort sailed between the sticks.
Niall Mc Aleer swung over a great score on 12 minutes with a Conor O’Neill free adding to the Leckpatrick advantage on the quarter hour mark as Owen Roe’s imposed an advantage they’d not lose over the hour.

Nonetheless Aghyaran were proving difficult to shake off and lurked dangerously over the hour. A high ball to the square was fisted over with Cahir Moss vacating his corner back role to knock over as well.

O’Neill tagged on another Owen Roe’s free with a well taken Ethan McHugh effort ensuring the scoreboard ebbed and flowed.

At the other end Conall Mc Cormick matched that Aghyaran score with an impressive hit of his own and straight from kick out Stephen Harper tagged on a point to end the half.

Half Time: Aghyaran 0-5 Owen Roe’s 1-6

Harper was the first man involved in the second half as well. His fine play allowed Boggs to score with a Mc Hugh free at the other end keeping the Aghyaran men in the hunt.

Owen Roe’s though were regularly popping over scores to quickly kill any Aghyaran momentum. Conor O’Neill found range from a long way out and Harper was once again involved with another eye catching score.

Mc Hugh was on target twice more for Aghyaran from an acute angle from open play and a dead ball.
With four points the gap Aghyaran were battling and still in the contest but Owen Roe’s had plenty in the tank to take them towards the whistle in the closing quarter outscoring their opponents five to none.

Conor O’Neill was again having a decent day from placed kicks scoring either side of Conall Mc Cormick’s fine individual effort.

Mc Cormick was in range again as the clock moved towards 30 minutes gallivanting forward to score. 
Aghyaran launched several high balls into the Roe’s scoring zone late on but the Roe’s back line was alert to all efforts.

In added time patient build up play by Owen Roe’s resulted in Sean Dooher moving into the gaps to end the evening’s scoring.

Owen Roe’s: Andy Devine, Peter O’Flaherty, Stephen Kelly, Gerard Devine, Conall Mc Cormick (0-3), Ryan Mc Aleer, Gerard Mc Shane, Tony Devine (1-0), Seamus Dooher, Conor O’Neill (0-5), Ryan Mc Shane, Brendan Boggs (0-2), Ronan Mc Nulty, Stephen Harper (0-2), Niall Mc Aleer (0-1).

Subs: Sean Dooher for Ryan McShane (47 mins), Conn Tinney for Ryan Mc Aleer (48 mins), Mark O’Neill for Ronan Mc Nulty (60 mins).