Owen Roes Get it 'Andy'

Glenelly v Owen Roes, Sunday, 7 June 2009

Div 3 ACL Reserve
Result: 2-5 to 2-12

Thursday, 22 August 2019 at 02:51 AM Galvin Early

A couple of goals by corner forward Andy Devine saw Owen Roes pick up a reserve derby victory in Plumbridge today. The game was played in ideal conditions, which say the visitors come out on top despite a rocky start.

The home side got off to the best possible start when they disturbed the rigging in Damian Crawford's goal early in the contest. Indeed the St.Joseph's were cruising when they followed the goal up with a pair of points. However Owen Roes were about to strike back to the max with Andy Devine striking the first of his majors.

Stephen Kelly pointed to reduce the lead to one before Owen Roes were awarded a spot kick. Devine stepped up to grab his second goal of the contest. Aaron Lynch added to the Leckpatrick total with a couple of scores, one from a free, as the visitors started to grab control.

Glenelly pulled one back, but John Harper's late score cancelled this out.

Half Time: Glenelly 1-3 Owen Roes 2-4

Devine continued his good form with an early second half free, before Glenelly pulled one back. Devine and a Lynch free cemented the Owen Roes lead, before Clarke Stephenson got his first score of the game.

Wing back Eamon McBride and Tam O'Neill added scores to cancel out a Glenelly free. Nonetheless the home side were awarded the game's second spot kick that was dispatched past the helpless Crawford in goal.

However the O'Neills were to finished strongest and McBride and Lynch knocked over to settle the game.

This was another good display from the Owen Roes second string, which showed some nice team interplay throughout. Andy Devine's 2-2 went a long way, but the game also saw good showings from Aaron Lynch, Stephen Kelly, and minor player Stephen McCauley.

Damian Crawford, Stephen McCauley, Gerard McShane, Rory Devine, Cathal Dooher, Willie Doherty, Eamon McBride (0-2), Stephen Kelly (0-1), Clarke Stephenson (0-1), Tam O'Neill (0-1), Ryan Logue, John Harper (0-1), Stephen Doherty, Aaron Lynch (0-4), Andy Devine (2-2). Subs: Paul Devine for Logue, Ryan Stewart for Harper, Rory Kelly for Lynch, Sean Ferguson for Tam O'Neill, Dermot McMenamin for Stephen Doherty