Pipped to the Post in Final

Owen Roes v Aghaloo, Brackaville, Drumragh, Monday, 7 June 2010

U15 Óg Sport Finals
Result: Final 1.09 v 3.07

Friday, 23 August 2019 at 04:27 PM Galvin Early

The boys started in style against Brackaville as they got on the scoreboard quickly with Ricki and Ronan. The second half the boys were roaming the field and taking every opportunity that came their way to score but eased of the pedal just enough to let Brackaville come close but the whistle came at the right time as the game finished 3.05 v 3.02.

Next up was Aghaloo, again Ricki was on the scoreboard with Cathal as they went 2 up at the half.  Chaz and Sean added their names to the tally but it was the work of the defenders Stephen and Macca that kept some of Aghaloos chances going wide.  The game finished level at 1.05 each but Owen Roes had 1 extra 45 so they were awarded the points.

Drumragh were the 3rd challenge of the night and a few changes were made.  Macca got on the scoreboard with Stephen as Ronan done good groundwork for Michael's score.  The game finished 3.05 to 3.04 as Roes qualified for the final.

The final was against Aghaloo.  Chaz was first off the mark with a free but they evened the tally.  Stephen then added one for the green and reds but this was cancelled out once again. Chaz and Cathal got the other 2 scores of the half but Aghaloo hit the maximum before the half to go 1 ahead.

Ricki got on the board then but Aghaloo were not to be dismissed and they quickly got 2.  The Roes were determined not to lose though as everyone on the field pushed themselves as they notched up a few scores.  But a quick kick out from the Aghaloo goalie caught all the Leckpatrick lads unaware as they again hit the back of the net.  But Ricki ran the length of the pitch and added a goal to his personal tally.  Again though Aghaloo had the extra store of energy as they in the last 2minutes added 4 points to the scoreboard to leave the boys defeated.

Final Score: 1.09 v 3.07

Ryan McAleer, Stephen Harper, Sean Dooher, Ricki Devine, Chaz ODoherty, Cathal McShane, Ronan McNulty, Conor McMenamin, Aaron Boggs, Michael Dooher