Owen Roes v Tattyreagh, Sunday, 24 May 2009

ACL Div 3
Result: 2-13 to 1-10

Tuesday, 20 August 2019 at 12:13 PM Galvin Early

Prior to Sunday Owen Roes and Tattyreagh were separated by 13 spots in the division three table, but thanks to one of the 'home' sides best displays in a long time it was the Leckpatrick side that collected two welcome league points on Sunday evening.

A sign of the day ahead emerged after 30 seconds when Kiernan Kelly won and converted a free. However Tattyreagh's corner forward burst in to fist over shortly after. With 8 minutes on the clock Aidan McCrossan’s lovely angled drive restored the O'Neill's lead.

However the game could've taken a different direction a minute later. The ever-dangerous Chris McCarroll slipped his marker to go one on one with Dylan Early. The Roe's custodian got the angles right to divert the number 14's effort onto the outside of the post.

Both sides though were continuing to trade points, and the St.Patrick's replied with a placed kick, before Conor McCay nosed the home challenge in front once more. Tattyreagh then put themselves ahead on the 17th minute for the first time in the game, as twice in a minute their number 8 scythed forward to score.

Despite surrendering cheap possession at times, this was a more confident display by the Green and Reds and Kevin O'Neill's run was rewarded with Kiernan Kelly's point. A Declan McCrossan free, Cheap FIFA 15 Coins and another from play via the boot of the lively McCay nudged Owen Roes ahead once more. Tattyreagh responded almost straight away, but Ronan Parker's industry was rewarded on 25 minutes as he split the sticks.

McCay chalked off his third score, before Tattyreagh converted another free as the half ended two to the good for Owen Roes.

Half Time: Owen Roes 0-8 Tattyreagh 0-6

With a good half under their belts, and a sniff of a victory Owen Roes emerged eager to make a mark early in the second period. With 43 seconds of the half gone, this is exactly what they did. The Tattyreagh net minder stopped Stephen Dooher’s initial shot, but the experienced O'Neill's attacker flicked the ball home to the empty net on the rebound.

Nonetheless Tattyreagh came storming back with two successive frees, and an industrious point from play as they attempted to keep their five game winning run on track. McCay won his side a free, which Kiernan Kelly converted to lift the siege.

A minute later and Aidan McCrossan saw a white flag, clipping a sumptuous pass from Brendan Boggs over the bar.

Tattyreagh's riposte was swift as their 38th minute point left the goal the difference. However the game was about to see another key moment. A high ball into the Tattyreagh scoring zone caused confusion, and when the ball broke Declan McCrossan gave the keeper little chance with his sharp drive.

Firmly in the driving seat, the start of the last quarter almost coincided with the Tatts being gifted a way back into the contest. Dylan Early's quick kick out fell short of the target and the visiting attacker ran through to punish to the max.

A test of the host's character once more, and a test they would pass. Kevin O'Neill's great foraging was capped by a great Declan McCrossan point, followed by a Kiernan Kelly free. The advantage was soon six as Marcus McGinley's stylish kick split the posts on 49 minutes.

Tattyreagh to their credit tried to get back into the game. However the Roes back line was obstinate, and despite the number of scores over the contest, the last 11 minutes remained scoreless as Owen Roes collected two welcome points.

This was a much-improved performance from Maxi Curran's men. Conor McCay and Kiernan Kelly created problems all day in the forward line, supported by Ronan Parker's industry. At the back Kevin Doherty put his body on the line with Kevin O'Neill and Davy Harte putting in excellent half back displays aided by substitute Sean McBride who did the dirty work well when he came on. Next up is a clash on Thursday night with Dregish.

1.Dylan Early 2.Kevin Doherty 3. Brendan McCrossan 4.Gerard Devin 5.Kevin O'Neill 6.Brendan Boggs 7.Davy Harte 8.Aidan McCrossan (0-2) 9.Chris Kelly 10.Ronan Parker (0-1) 11.Declan McCrossan (1-2) 12.Steven Dooher (1-0) 13. Kiernan Kelly (0-4) 14.Marcus McGinley (0-1) 15. Conor McCay (0-3) 16.Sean McBride for Dooher 40 mins 17. Paul Kelly for Kevin O'Neill (59 mins) 18. Steven Dooher for Harte (60 mins)