Battling Roes Go Down to Cappagh

Owen Roes v Cappagh, Thursday, 10 May 2012

U14 Grade 1 League
Result: 3-6 to 4-11

Wednesday, 21 August 2019 at 10:35 PM Galvin Early

Owen Roes made their 2012 grade one debut tonight as they entertained Cappagh in this clash played during damp, wintry conditions. The home side were far from fancied against their experienced opponents, but after the hour they can find themselves somewhat unlucky to be at the wrong end of a flattering eight points defeat.

The Leckpatrick side got the game off to the best possible start with Ryan Devine bagging a 3rd minute major. Both sides traded a pair of scores, Devine twice in range for Owen Roes. However Aaron Ward had to be sharp to stop a Cappagh goal on 12 minutes.

The visitors pulled another score back before grabbing the first of their goals on 16 minutes.

Back came Owen Roes and after a bit of a scramble Devine poked the ball over the line for his second strike. However the visitors hit a purple patch and tagged on a rapidfire 2-1.

Aaron McGonigle's free and a Conal McCormack point left just a goal in it at the short whistle.

Owen Roes 2-4 Cappagh 3-4

The visitors managed to get more of a handle on the game in the second period and early points stretched their lead.

Owen Roes weren't letting their heads drop, and Michael Doherty produced a stunning finish to close the gap to two scores in 44 minutes.

At the other end, Cappagh were denied a major thanks to a tidy goal line stop by Ronan Devine.

Aaron McGonigle tapped over a free in between two visiting white flags before a 52nd minute goal virtually killed off the Owen Roes resistance.

However a lovely passing move by Eoghain Devine and Oisin Dooher allowed McGonigle to point, but in added time Cappagh added three scores without reply to leave the scoreboard looking harsher than the contest suggested.


Aaron Ward, Mark McFadden, Owen McNulty, Ronan Devine, Damian McCrossan, Conal McCormack (0-1), Oisin Dooher, Jack Cairns, Eoghain Devine, Jamie McGale, Ryan Devine (2-2), Niall McAleer, Sean Kelly, Aaron McGonigle (0-3), Michael Doherty (1-0) Subs: Ronan Coyle for Jack Cairns (26 mins), Conn Tinney for Ryan Devine (30 mins), Ryan Devine for Michael Doherty (54 mins).