'Tam'ohawk Sinks Fintona

Owen Roes v Fintona, Saturday, 2 May 2009

Div 3 ACL Reserve
Result: 1-10 to 0-10

Friday, 23 August 2019 at 12:08 PM Galvin Early

Owen Roes' second string's good start to the season continued on Saturday evening as they edged out a difficult encounter with Fintona thanks in no small part to a late goal by wing forward Tam O'Neill.

It was the home side that got up and running early on with Mark Kelly's placed ball sailed over. However Fintona came back into the contest and they rattled off three unanswered points, as well as sending a few more efforts wide of the post.

Kelly's placed kicking was on form, and twice more the O'Neill's full forward found range coupled with an effort from open play. Fintona levelled matters up, but Andy Devine's fine point, and another from Kelly brought Owen Roes back ahead. Sean McBride's late score sealed a good second quarter for the home side.

Half Time: Owen Roes 0-7 Fintona 0-4

Devine was on target once more as the second half commenced, but Fintona's two scores suggested they were very much alive in the game.

Kelly again saw a White flag signal one of his efforts before the Pearses again struck twice to put a kick in it. However with nine minute remaining, the experienced Tam O'Neill sealed the contest as his right foot connected to send the ball sailing like a missile into the top corner of the net.

Credit to the visitors as they kept at it, and again paired scores up to leave the home side sweating, but Brian Conway steadied up to seal it following good work by the Doherty's Willie and Stephen.

This was another good display by the O'Neills second fifteen, as the experienced of Willie Doherty, Stephen Kelly and O'Neill has assisted them in making this three games unbeaten. The side currently lie 7th with most of the teams above them having a game played more.

1. Damian Crawford 2. Gerard McShane 3. Brian Kelly 4. Joe Kelly 5. Willie Doherty 6. Ryan Stewart 7. Darren Devine 8. Stephen Kelly 9. Sean McBride (0-1) 10. Brian Conway (0-1) 11. Tam O'Neill (1-0) 12. Andy Devine (0-2) 13. Rory Kelly 14. Mark Kelly (0-6) 15. Stephen Doherty 16. Noel Mullan for Joe Kelly 16 mins) 17. Joe Kelly for Rory Kelly (51 mins).